Regulations of the municipal police force of Madrid

The Madrid Municipal Police Force is one of the security forces of the Madrid City Council, whose mission is the protection of people, property and the maintenance of public order in the city of Madrid.

The Madrid Municipal Police force is made up of some 2,000 agents, who provide their services in the different districts of the city. The Municipal Police of Madrid is divided into three areas: the Traffic Police area, the Citizen Security Police area and the Civil Protection Police area.

The Traffic Police area is responsible for ensuring the good condition of public roads and the proper functioning of traffic. The Citizen Security Police area is in charge of preventing and fighting crime. The Civil Protection Police area is in charge of protecting people and property in the event of fire, natural disasters or accidents.